Arkansas now has the most restrictive abortion law in the country. The law says that doctor will lose his or her medical license if an abortion is performed after 12 weeks, except in some instances.
Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe vetoed this law, calling it unconstitutional. But, both the State House and Senate voted to override that veto.
If the law stands up to legal challenge, it would go into effect this summer. The law is called the Arkansas Human Heartbeat Protection Act, and is based off when a fetal heartbeat can be heard during an abdominal ultrasound.
It's a direct challenge to Roe v. Wade, which says abortions are permitted until the fetus is viable outside the womb, about 24 weeks.
The Arkansas ACLU has vowed to file a legal challenge. Still, pro-life advocates are calling this a victory. The pro-choice community says this could be dangerous for women.
"If the law were upheld, then this would produce unsafe abortions. But I don't think the law will be upheld," says Barry Chase with Planned Parenthood.
David Chandler with 40 Days for Life says, "We need laws like this in every state and go further in the nation. A baby's heart starts beating just three weeks after conception. So we need to take that law and extend it and end abortions throughout the country."